CenterPoint EnergyElectric Transmission and Distribution
SCORE & CitySmart Programs
School and Government Facilities Energy Efficiency Program
SCORE Program

The Schools Conserving Resources (SCORE)/CitySmart program is offered to private and public schools, higher education and government entities in the CenterPoint Energy electric distribution service territory.

The program instructs school administrators and facility managers how to operate their buildings more efficiently by demonstrating the technical and financial benefits of investing in energy efficiency and developing a plan to make energy efficiency improvements. 

For detailed program information and resources, visit:

Program contact:

Services Provided

Customers enrolling in the program, referred to as Partners, receive technical and energy management assistance to help them make decisions about cost effective investments in facility energy efficiency. These services include:

  • Benchmarking the facilities energy use
  • Developing an Energy Master Plan to help manage energy costs
  • Identifying cost effective projects and funding sources
  • Promoting accomplishments through communications support

Program Eligibility

Private and public schools and higher education facilities are eligible to participate in the SCORE program. The CitySmart Program targets city and county government facilities within the CenterPoint Energy service territory.


The program pays incentives for energy efficiency measures that reduce peak electricity demand, which is between 1 p.m. and 7 p.m., Monday through Friday from June until September.

Incentives are based on the amount of peak electricity demand a project saves. Incentives are paid after a project has been completed and the new equipment has been inspected.  Funding is available to pay incentives for eligible energy efficiency projects in participating Partners' facilities. Incentives are paid on peak kW savings that are based primarily on a deemed savings approach approved by the Public Utilities Commission of Texas.